Agnostic views & images I like

Thoughts about things on the web

Memories of skiing Whistler/Blackcomb

leave a comment »

Whistler British Columbia sunny skiing

Image by phileole via Flickr

As the days float by (at this time of my life I have a sense of floating by rather than living each day), I think about the $51 million project to join the higher reaches of Whistler and Blackcomb mountains. I guess that was inevitable once the new owner of both mountains was confirmed. This year and after October 16, the annual ski lift fee for one will be $1,800 some.

Yes I used to drive up and even bussed up a few times to ski either mountain. The last time was 1992, but the images in my mind are still vivid. I used to get a day of skiing in for less than $45 in those days and considered it expensive.

With financial markets crashing and big Wall Street names disappearing is this project and the whole new Whistler/Blackcomb skiing holiday vision just a grubby memory of high times past?

The mountain to mountain cable car is to me another extravagance illustrating an era that is passing. Mind you those rich Chinese are getting into skiing and maybe it’ll all be for them.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Written by BobG in Dalian & Vancouver

2008/09/18 at 07:41

Leave a Reply

