Agnostic views & images I like

Thoughts about things on the web

Since it’s the 3rd day of 2009, I have decided to post a statement of beliefs

leave a comment »

This is developed from a text model in Bill Cohen’s book about Life Mapping. But the story told below is all mine. My notion in posting this is to put down a mark in the sands of my time in this Universe.

The purpose of my life

I believe that there is a natural force and random (genetic) process that made all aspects of the Universe possible, including human life. My own life came from the fertilization of eggs in my mother’s womb from my father’s sperm introduced by penis penetration of my mother’s cunt. But that genetic process is simply another in a long line over billions of years looking backward in time and a no less long line into the future.

I am a unique genetic instance. I have left my genetic imprint since I fathered 3 children and will eventually die and turn to “dust”.

The purpose of my life is to find a satisfactory understanding of this Universe and my itty bitty place in it, so that I can enjoy the good days and not rue too long the bad and horrible ones. In this way I should live up to my full potential and not be too much of a burden to those closest to me.

My way to understanding my emotional dilemma in this world is the recognize the ANGUISH I bring on for myself, understanding the cause and nature of that anguish, accepting all that and taking a path of action to address the negative aspects of my anguish and its immediate causes.

My beliefs

Evolution exhibit (Taronga Zoo, Australia)
Image by Colin Purrington via Flickr
I believe that Darwin spoke practical sense when he said:  “My theology is a simple muddle: I cannot look at the Universe as the result of blind chance, yet I can see no evidence of beneficent Design.” (Letter to Joseph Hooker, July 12 1870).

I believe that it’s not the what fate and my lifetime cause for me but how I deal with it to live as well as I can and not destroy my spirit by mindless resentment and obsession with redress of the wrongs I receive.

I believe every being is unique and must deal with circumstances in his own way with or without help from others.

I believe everyone makes mistakes, but the wise one learns from them.

I believe in the Golden Rule of “do unto others as I would hope for myself”.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Written by BobG in Dalian & Vancouver

2009/01/03 at 08:05

Leave a Reply

