Agnostic views & images I like

Thoughts about things on the web

More thoughts about the cosmos and God of the Bible, the first cause

with one comment

I do believe that I, my body, my mind, my consciousness, am just a collection of atoms at some microscopic level. The Orion Nebula is just a collection of atoms also.

Isn’t it a wonderous mystery why and how the Orion Nebula looks so beautiful from this Hubble (macrocospic) view and looks so different than I do. I sit here and look at this picture that’s made its way to my computer screen with a truly extraordinary deployment of engineering ingenuity and hardware and feel baffled by the whole thing.

If you look carefully at the nebula‘s image I’m sure you will see some strangely human outlines in the coagulation of stardust. Again it’s baffling.

It’s tempting to think that God is behind all this and laughing at me and my idle speculations here. Or what I see is just an interesting and momentary collection of atoms delivered to my eye and brain to give me pleasure and some thing to speculate about.

The Omega Nebula, an example of an emission ne...
Image via Wikipedia
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Written by BobG in Dalian & Vancouver

2009/04/09 at 21:38

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Bob – did you ever pass The Rorschach Test?

    I few lines from Mr. Google:

    Most people have heard of the Rorschach test (pronounced ”raw-shock”), but few have ever seen a real Rorschach inkblot.

    The Rorschach inkblot test (pronounced IPA: [‘ʁoɐʃax]) is a method of psychological evaluation. Psychologists use this test to try to examine the …

    From your blog: “If you look carefully at the nebula’s image I’m sure you will see some strangely human outlines in the coagulation of stardust. Again it’s baffling.”

    I agree: She’s pretty! Probably Chinese!

    polo

    polo2009

    2009/04/11 at 16:11


Leave a Reply

