Agnostic views & images I like

Thoughts about things on the web

Quality of life

leave a comment »

Much is written about this and it’s probably the most important factor about living. I am a lucky retiree. I am 73 years old and I enjoy a high level of physical and mental well being. My wife who is 28 years younger than I continues to tell me that I look and act much younger than my biological age. A lot of that has to do with where I was brought up and have lived. Here’s what I look like in a photo taken about a month ago:

I look pretty healthy and lively even at 7AM leaving China earlier this month. This morning I saw the image of a man in Peru looking much the worse for the wear and tear of his life.

Photo by Tomas Munita for NY Times

This is Jesus Guitan, 60, who worked for 17 years at a base metals smelter in Peru. He now suffers from several health problems, which he attributes to the pollution he was exposed to during his working years. It’s this image that got me thinking about the depth and breadth of my well being in comparison with so many less fortunate than I.

And then there is the image of this man in China who clearly has to work very hard for meager wages:

Three men, three different living conditions and three quite different images of well being! I am quite happy with mine, thank you very much!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Written by BobG in Dalian & Vancouver

2009/06/25 at 08:18

Leave a Reply

