Agnostic views & images I like

Thoughts about things on the web

Books and the Vancouver Public Library

leave a comment »

bliss
Image by davidsilver via Flickr

Two months ago I returned to Vancouver from a 5 month hiatus in China. Aside from the difficulties of finding my own niche in a bustling China I missed my connection with books and it’s only now that I can freely reserve new and old books from vpl.ca that I realize what a treasure it is and how much I missed it.

I am looking forward to seeing the new movie “Julie and Julia” so much that I couldn’t miss Michael Pollan‘s NYT Magazine piece about Julia Child and the movie. I picked up on Pollan’s mention of Julia’s life memoir published after she died, “My life in France“. So I scooted over to vpl.ca and found the library catalougue entry for it and immediately reserved it,  just like that!

These days thanks to VPL.ca I am back into reading three and four books in tandem. Kind of fun. But I am particularly looking forward to reading Julia’s memoir. What a goofy looking sounding genius she was and so adorable, to me.

So much of my life now is music, history, interesting descriptions of science and philosophy and good novels and my Mac is my best window into all of this.

And this blog is an invaluable place so that I can record and muse about my life, past, present and future.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Written by BobG in Dalian & Vancouver

2009/08/02 at 10:37

Leave a Reply

