Agnostic views & images I like

Thoughts about things on the web

An image of cosmic chaos in space

leave a comment »

162284main_image_feature_693_ys_full

Here’s how the NASA experts explain this image:

Chaos at the Heart of Orion
NASA’s Spitzer and Hubble Space Telescopes teamed up to expose the chaos that baby stars are creating 1,500 light years away in a cosmic cloud called the Orion nebula. This striking composite indicates that four monstrously massive stars, collectively called the “Trapezium,” at the center of the cloud may be the main culprits in the Orion constellation, a familiar sight in the fall and winter night sky in the northern hemisphere. Their community can be identified as the yellow smudge near the center of the image.

I am always dazzled by these images. Mostly what tickles my imagination is the science, technology and engineering that supports the delivery of this image to my humble iMac. I can’t help remember my first contacts with computers, IBM 650, 1401 and 1410. I was hands on in those early IT days. But at no time could I imagine what I experience now with my 20″ monitor, full color, the Internet and organizations like NASA that make my computer experience just that much better.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Written by BobG in Dalian & Vancouver

2009/08/09 at 13:34

Leave a Reply

