Agnostic views & images I like

Thoughts about things on the web

Misrepresentation by the Vancouver Art Gallery

leave a comment »

Vancouver Art Gallery
Image via Wikipedia

Yesterday I was in downtown Vancouver and decided to pay the admission to see whatever Vermeers and Rembrandts were on offer at the latest much hyped exhibition at the VAG. The seniors admission I paid was $16. CDN. Going in I did have a mental picture of seeing at least one big Vermeer and one Rembrandt to justify a significant, for me, payout.

I trust you can imagine my frustration when all that was on offer was one smallish and obscure Vermeer and one or maybe two smoky Rembrandt’s. I asked a few security people if that was all there was and there obsequious knowing smiles along with confirmation of that sad fact left little doubt in my mind that I had just experienced my third and last VAG public event. The impression given by outside signs and other public adverts was that there would be Vermeers and Rembrandts on view with emphasis on the plural or more than one smallish instance. Once again I experienced flagrant money grubbing misrepresentation by VAG.

I spoke to a female VAG volunteer about my disappointment and consternation and got a middle class expression of total disinterest! What a crock!

Institutions like VAG are practiced in the art of enticing us into empty exhibitions. Its either the sources they deal with, the Amsterdam Rijks Museum in this case, or their own cupidity. Either way it’s disgusting to be treated like dumbclucks by either of these art institutions. I say to hell with them and their vapid public events!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Written by BobG in Dalian & Vancouver

2009/09/02 at 12:49

Leave a Reply

