Agnostic views & images I like

Thoughts about things on the web

It’s never too late to post about really cool thoughts

leave a comment »

Colum McCann by David Shankbone
Image via Wikipedia

This is from the NY Times 2009/6/15 or last Bloomsday! What pearls of wisdom from Colum McCann, who is the author of the forthcoming novel “Let the Great World Spin.”:

Vladimir Nabokov once said that the purpose of storytelling is “to portray ordinary objects as they will be reflected in the kindly mirrors of future times; to find in the objects around us of the fragrant tenderness that only posterity will appreciate and discern in far off times when every trifle of our everyday life will become exquisite and festive in its own right: the times when a man who might put on the most ordinary jacket of today will be dressed up for an elegant masquerade,”

This is the function of books – we learn how to live even if we weren’t there. Fiction gives us access to a very real history. Stories are the best democracy we have. We are allowed to become the other we never dreamed we could be.

The last 10 years of my life I have striven to recover the story of me and my birth family between Sept 1, 1939 till I got to Halifax July 13, 1940 after a frightening escape from the Fall of France 1940. That part of my childish memory is rubbed clean, except for wispy daylight flashes of memory in London sometime in late June 1940 and on board MV Batory crossing the North Atlantic in a well protected convoy between July 7 and July 13, 1940.

Unlike Colum McCann I have not yet found that book, or collection of stories, that piques my mind memory banks or my novelistic imagination! Oh I wish that I had! This thought must get into my family history book! And I will make it so!

 

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Written by BobG in Dalian & Vancouver

2009/11/23 at 07:34

Leave a Reply

