Agnostic views & images I like

Thoughts about things on the web

Dealing with high blood sugars!

leave a comment »

During my last appointment with my GP when he told me that the next step was not more meds or exercise and diet, but insulin injections, because my diabetes was showing signs of serious regression with blood sugar metrics that were “outta control”. My desultory morning monitoring of my “fasting blood sugar” showed measures usually around 12 and sometimes as high as 20. The acceptable standard is about 6.

Since that appointment I have been sort of floundering, worrying and coming to terms with the idea of injecting myself, in the belly, with insulin. But my GP did give me on last med solution until my next blood test session next Feb. He prescribed Junania an expensive pill at $3.15 a pill per day. And then by accident I found a small magazine at the Whole Foods coffee counter that included an article titled “Avoid Diabetes Complications”. At first I didn’t pay much attention. But the other day I was taking a long bus ride and took more time to read and consider the advice in the article that was written by a naturopath from Rossland, BC – Brenda Gill.

I was struck by this sentence in Gill’s article “Food is the primary medicine in diabetes prevention and treatment.” She followed that by mentioning a book by Dr. Richard K. Bernstein Dr. Bernstein’s Diabetes solution that explains a successful blood sugar controlling diet. He, with diabetes I, weaned himself from insulin injections, by following a diet he found by trial and error over several years. He eliminates cereals, bread, potatoes, pasta and deserts, replacing them with vegetables and some fruit.

Two days ago I started following that diet guideline and this morning my blood sugar metric was 8.1 or a 50% improvement from metrics 4 days ago. In fact, my blood sugar metrics yesterday went in three tests from 12.3 to 9.1 around 6PM and now this morning the metric is 8.1. Now that’s not regression! That’s progression. What I don’t know is whether it’s because of the new med Juvania, or my changed diet or both. Whatever the cause the news is good.

UPDATE 12/18, 7:20 AM: My fasting blood sugar reading this morning is 5.7, nicely in the recommended range of 4 to 6. Thank you low carb diet!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Written by BobG in Dalian & Vancouver

2009/12/13 at 10:25

Leave a Reply

