Agnostic views & images I like

Thoughts about things on the web

A description of “hell on earth”

leave a comment »

Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945 cover
Image via Wikipedia

It does not include Islamists or even terrorists and affects only one person.

I have read more than one essay by Tony Judt, but I didn’t realize that he was suffering from Lou Gehrig’s Disease.

My sister died after suffering from MS for many years. So this dis-ease is part of my family’s history. Also, my cousin Fred Gagnon died an early death (50 something) because of that dis-ease.

But I had never read such a bleak description of the effects of it until I read this in the NY Review of Books, which, over the years, has published many Judt essays.

This is as close to “hell on earth” as I like to contemplate!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Written by BobG in Dalian & Vancouver

2010/01/11 at 08:53

Leave a Reply

