Agnostic views & images I like

Thoughts about things on the web

There are many things I credit my access to the world wide web for

leave a comment »

The History of Western Philosophy
Image by Garry Ing via Flickr

but I could never have imagined that having it this morning would provide me with a loose connection to Bertrand Russell by way of a video of Stephen Fry discussing his views about philosophy and ipso facto Bertrand Russell. Then this afternoon I was in a imported foods store in Kaifaqu, one of Dalian’s Development Zones. Imagine my  surprise that there I would find one thick paper back copy of Russell’s “The History of Western Philosophy“.

Many years ago I was much younger and felt the need to connect with a mind like Russell’s. One day I bought a beautiful hard cover edition of the same book. That volume was full of color photos, paintings and illustrations, while this one has no illustrations. But this one was inexpensive, which happens to be the case for many excellent English volumes that can be bought in China. That’s a niggly detail, you may think, but it is part of this time in my life in China.

As time goes by I am discovering more than one reason for being in China now. All this wasn’t part of a wisely thought out plan on my part, but the time seems to be ripe for what is happening these days. A lot of what’s happening has to do with the importance of the English language to Chinese people and international business efforts in China, especially their commitment to outsourcing the intelligence and ability of their educated and trained people to the Western World via modern computer based networks and software.

It’s not all a rosy situation. There are many negative things about living in Dalian. But I seem to be doing better this time with the help and support I am getting from my wife Emma.

Part of
Image via Wikipedia
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Written by BobG in Dalian & Vancouver

2010/05/09 at 04:46

Leave a Reply

