Agnostic views & images I like

Thoughts about things on the web

There is an interesting resto, coffeehouse and bar in Dalian

leave a comment »

It’s name is simply Havana and when you walk inside you find a treasure trove of Cubana artifacts, including a series of photos of Che Guevara including this one sitting and chatting with J-P Sartre and his dear friend Simone de Beauvoir:

When I first saw this photo I did a double take. I quickly wrote a note to be attached to the image which you can see in part on the left side of the image. The staff of Havana did not know anything about these intriguing people with Che. Oh, they knew about Che but not anything about the other two.

The owner of this cafe is a Chinese businessman who has a casa in Cuba, he tells me, and a chicken farm or farms there. This man has an intriguing name. He is Mr. Mao but in person he is a paragon of China-Cuba charm, although his English is dim so we tend to try to communicate with my dim Spanish until his niece, Helen, helps us out.

Two other photos in frames caught my eye:

And I’m sure you will agree that this headline is enough to catch anyone’s eye since it’s on the wall with the Che Guevara images. But this next one is also intriguing:

I’m sorry, I can’t seem to eliminate this upside down image, but I’m sure you will agree that this photo of a front page, even if upside down, is quite recognizable!

and then I found another candid image of Che:

And now one of those Cuban artifacts with a quite recognizable cigar, looking a bit weary and tattered but a cigar nonetheless:

All the photos were snapped by me on the walls of Cafe Havana, a really neat place since they serve cold Australian beer and coffee and pretty good eats! The cafe is one street away from a very busy Carrefour Supermarket and a building known as the Roosevelt! Now that has to be intriguing since it’s all near a Xi’an Lu (road) and Huanghe (Yellow) Lu.

Helen is a neat lady and her uncle is an authentic Chinese character since he even finances an amateur soccer team in soccer crazy Dalian.

I guess once you consider this post you’ll have a better idea why I find joy on the back streets of Dalian!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Written by BobG in Dalian & Vancouver

2010/11/12 at 13:26

Leave a Reply

